Frequently Asked Questions about the process of obtaining your Florida Real Estate License …
How old must I be to get a Florida Real Estate License?
Must I be a Florida Resident to get a Florida Real Estate License?
No, you do not have to be a Florida Resident, nor do you have to be a U.S. Citizen. However, you must have a U.S. Social Security Number.
Is a college degree required?
No. The education requirement is high school or equivalent (GED or other non-traditional equivalence), plus the State required 63 hour pre-license course. However, if you have a college degree in Real Estate, the 63 hour pre-license course is not required. If you were educated in a country that does not have high school the way it is defined in the U.S., you may need to get additional documentation of its equivalence.
Can the 63 hour pre-license course be taken online?
Yes. I may be taken online or in a live classroom.
How much does the 63 hour Pre-License Course cost?
Tuition amounts are posted here for online and classroom
Are there exemptions from the 63 hour pre-license course?
- College degree in Real Estate
- Member in good standing of the Florida Bar Association
- US military: Active Duty or Honorably discharged within the last 5 years, or spouse of either, so long as the same license is already held in any other State.
- Non-Florida residents from any of the State’s list of “Mutual Recognition” States
Are there exemptions from the Florida Real Estate exam?
Case #3 above, involving military reciprocity, is exempt from the exam. Although, case #4 involving Mutual Recognition requires a 40 question exam, rather than the usual 100 question exam. All others must take and pass the State proctored 100 question exam.
Can I get a refund if I don’t pass?
No. If you don’t pass the end-of-course final exam, you must wait 30 days to retest, but must retest within 1 year. If you do not pass on the 2nd attempt, the class is void and must be repeated at your own expense. The State Proctored exam must be taken and passed within 2 years of having passed the pre-license course. Offering “pass or don’t pay” is not allowed in Florida (475.451(3) of the Florida Statutes)
Is a background check required?
Yes. The application form contains background questions, which must be answered truthfully and completely, in addition to required fingerprinting.
If I have already been fingerprinted for some other license or requirement, must I get new fingerprints?
FDLE will only retain the criminal results from applicants for a period of six months from the date
the fingerprints were rolled. Applicants should submit their applications soon after submitting
their fingerprints in order to afford themselves an opportunity to resolve any application
deficiencies prior to the expiration of the criminal history results. If you were fingerprinted within 6 months of applying, you may request that the fingerprinting be t the results for Real Estate by providing the ORI number FL920010Z. (The vendor may charge a fee for this)
How much does the fingerprinting/background check cost?
You are free to shop this. Fingerprinting vendors in Florida charge anywhere from $55 to $105. The only restriction is that the State of Florida wants you to use a “Live Scan” vendor, rather than an inky print vendor. If you are in a State or location that does not offer this, your application processing time may be a bit longer. When checking the status of your application, it will show as a “deficiency” until they are processed.
How much does it cost to apply?
The application fee to the State fluctuates slightly from time to time, as certain components are funded by applications and renewals. So, the more licensees, the lower the fees. (this doesn’t happen often, but it has been known to actually decrease) The fee amount will be stated on the license application form RE 1.
Where can I find the application form?
A link to the form is available on the Florida Links page of this site or from the Florida Department of Business and Professional Regulation (www.myfloridalicense.com) Online application is encouraged and allows you to check on the status of your application online.
How much does the State exam cost?
The State of Florida uses Pearson Vue Testing Centers. You may verify the cost with them here: https://home.pearsonvue.com/Test-takers.aspx At the time of this writing, it was $36.75
How many attempts are allowed for the State proctored exam?
There is no limit to the number of attempts, but the exam must be passed within 2 years of having passed your end-of-course exam from the pre-licensing course.
Can the State exam be taken online?
Yes. As of August of 2020, there is an option to take the exam from home, rather than scheduling at the Pearson Vue testing centers. It is still proctored, but through your equipment. You must have a working microphone and webcam on your computer and a proctor monitors you as you test. More information about this is available in the Candidate Information Booklet.
How do I create my account with the Florida Department of Business and Professional Regulation?
Go to www.myfloridalicense.com and click the blue “Account” link in the upper right corner of the page.
This is a lot! Who can I call if I have additional questions or need clarification?
The Florida DBPR customer contact form and telephone number or call PERT Florida Real Estate School to speak directly to the licensed instructor: Amy Walker, 386-562-0889 or use the e-mail contact form